Connect with us


Congratulations to Taylor Swift on winning the “Songwriter of the Year” at the 2024 BMI Pop Awards. She wrote “Anti-Hero,” “Cruel Summer,” “Midnight Rain” and many more hits.



Taylor Swift performs onstage during “Taylor Swift | The Eras Tour” at La Defense on May 09, 2024 in Paris, France.

Kevin Mazur/TAS24/Getty Images for TAS Rights Management

Taylor Swift took pop songwriter of the year at the 2024 BMI Pop Awards, which were held at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills, Calif. on Tuesday (June 4).

Swift had a hand in writing 10 of BMI’s most-performed songs of 2023 – “Anti-Hero,” “Bejeweled,” “Cruel Summer,” “Karma,” “Lavender Haze,” “Maroon,” “Midnight Rain,” “Snow on the Beach,” “Vigilante Shit” and “You’re on Your Own, Kid.” Swift has received a total of 65 BMI Awards, including the BMI President’s Award in 2009.

On Nov. 10, 2023, Swift received her seventh Grammy nomination for song of the year for “Anti-Hero,” which enabled her to set a new record for the most nods in the category.

Miley Cyrus, Gregory ‘Aldae’ Hein and Michael Pollack won the BMI Pop Award for song of the year for Cyrus’ megahit, “Flowers.” The smash entered the Billboard Hot 100 at No. 1 and remained there for eight nonconsecutive weeks. It won Grammys for record of the year and best pop solo performance on Feb. 4 (and was nominated for song of the year).

Sony Music Publishing received publisher of the year for the seventh year in a row. The company represented 34 of the previous year’s most performed songs, including “Anti-Hero,” “Barbie World,” “Eyes Closed,” “Flowers,” “Trustfall” and “Unholy.”

Sony Music Publishing songwriter honorees include Cyrus, 070 Shake, Akil “Fresh” King, Alonzo Miller, Anne-Marie, Beach Noise, Caroline Ailin, Charlie Handsome, Clinton Sparks, Coi Leray, Dan Darmawan, Dylan Wiggins, Ed Sheeran, Enya, INK, Johnny McDaid, Kamille, Keanu Torres, Lady Gaga, Latto, Lil Nas X, Mario Winans, Mike Sabath, Nicky Ryan, P!nk, PinkPantheress, Rob Bisel, Roma Ryan, Ruth B, Sam Dew, Sarah Aarons, Sarcastic Sounds, Sounwave, Tamar Kaprelian, Tate McRae and Tom Barnes.

As previously announced, Benny Blanco, 36, received the BMI President’s Award. Blanco has won 55 BMI Awards, was named songwriter of the year four times, and won pop song of the year in 2013 for co-writing “Moves Like Jagger” performed by Maroon 5 featuring Christina Aguilera.

Blanco has received two Grammy nods for song of the year, for the Julia Michaels hit “Issues” and the Justin Bieber smash “Love Yourself.” Blanco has gone 0-11 at the Grammys over the years, so this BMI recognition was probably especially meaningful

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2024 USAmax24